The NZIA will announce the top students of architecture in New Zealand for 2017 at the NZIA Central Innovation Student Design Awards presentation on Thursday 30 November, from 5.30pm – 7.30pm at the Grand Tearoom on Level 7 at the Heritage Hotel. Doors open 5.15pm.

The winners are chosen from among four finalists from each of the three schools of architecture – Victoria University, Unitec and University of Auckland. The finalists are in their final year (5th Year), and the presentation is a design project completed as part of their thesis year. To be selected as the top student is an outstanding achievement.

This year’s finalists are:

UNITEC – Department of Architecture
Marisha Aya
Andrew Frankum
Hannah Stephenson
William Howse

Ryan McCully
Jessica Wright
Stacey Mountfort
Gerard Finch

UNIVERSITY OF AUCKLAND – School of Architecture and Planning
Lucy Vete
LiWen Choy
Mustafa Mora
Ayla Raymond-Roberts

The work of all twelve finalists will be on display and the winner and the two other highly commended awards will be announced by the NZIA President Christina van Bohemen who heads the judging panel comprising: the New Zealand judge, Jon Rennie from Athfield Architects; and the Australian judge, Rachel Neeson from the Sydney practice Neeson Murcutt Architects.

Before the awards ceremony, Rachel Neeson will give a short talk.

Registered Architects receive 5 CPD Points for attendance at this talk.

Registrations required (limited to 100 spaces). Free event, register here.

The venue will be also be open to members of the public on Thursday 30 November between 1 and 2pm to view the finalists’ exhibitions – no registration required.